Legacy of Ash (Legacy Trilogy #1) – Matthew Ward

three stars blackDid not finish@ 52%

 

Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 784
Publisher: Orbit 
Release Date: April 7, 2020

In this action-packed epic fantasy debut, three heroes scarred by old hatreds must find a way to overcome their pasts if they are to have any chance of saving their crumbling Republic from complete destruction. Perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Brent Weeks, and Brandon Sanderson.



A shadow has fallen over the Tressian Republic.


hile the armies of the Hadari Empire invade the borderlands, the Republic’s noble families plot against each other, divided by personal ambition.

 

But as Tressia falls, heroes rise.


Viktor Akadra is the Republic’s champion and conqueror of the rebellious south. A warrior without equal, he also hides a secret that would see him burned as a heretic.


Josiri Trelan would gladly see Viktor condemned to the flames – vengeance for a rebellion crushed and a mother slain. And while Josiri plots fresh insurrection, his sister, Calenne, is determined to escape their tarnished legacy and break the shackles of the past.


As dark days beckon, these three must overcome their differences to save the Republic. Yet decades of bad blood are not easily set aside. Victory – if it comes at all – will command a higher price than they could have imagined.


Legacy of Ash is an epic fantasy telling the story of multiple characters in a vast world. Such a vague description that can describe just about any fantasy novel on the market, right? If you were to ask me what Legacy of Ash is about, that’s the only description I would be able to give you. Though I didn’t finish the novel, you would think after reading half the novel I’d be able to give a better description, but no.

I had a hard time getting into the novel. There are a lot of characters thrown at readers at the beginning with little time to get acquainted with them. I’m no stranger to big, epic fantasy novels, so it was surprising when it took me about 150 pages to get a handle on the key players and the world they live in. The characters and world building are quickly dropped on the reader as if they were on fire making it difficult to follow.

Even though I DNF’d at 50%, I’m still rating the novel three stars. Had I actually finished it, I probably would have still rated it three stars because its inability to keep me interested after I put the book down.

Overall, there’s an interesting story buried under all the characters and world building but there’s too much to wade through to get to the heart of the story.

 

*** I received an ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.

Have you read Legacy of Ash? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Legacy of Ash (Legacy Trilogy #1) – Matthew Ward

  1. This book has such a wide variety of reactions! I’ve read reviews saying it’s the best book of the year, and then others like yours that were DNFs. I’m hoping to try it this month.

Leave a comment