Monthly Wrap-Up | November 2023

Hello everyone!

I did a lot of rereading in the month of November. I HAD to reread Fourth Wing before Iron Flame and I started my reread of Sarah J. Maas in anticipation of House of Flame and Shadow.

During the month of November I read 8 books.

So, here are some stats!

Number of pages read: 3701
Number of print books: 7
Number of e-books: 1
Favourite quote of the month:

I HAD to choose this quote. IYKYK.

I usually feature my top two favourite books of the month from differing genres, but only one book stood out in November.

 Iron Flame delivered tenfold. From the expansion of the world to the character development and to the overall plot, Iron Flame is a worth sequel to its predecessor that has had the book community in a chokehold ever since its initial release.

My Boyfriend is a Vampire is a great Halloween read with excellent spice and world building readers won’t expect. Three Stars

Fourth Wing will probably be my favourite book of 2023. It’s everything I want from a romantasy novel: excellent world building and a romance full of chemistry and tension. Five Stars

I didn’t like The Graham Effect as much as I wanted because of tropes I personally do not enjoy. If you like grumpy x sunshine romances, you’ll love The Graham Effect. Three Stars

A Court of Frost and Starlight is a beautiful addition to the series that reaffirmed my love for these characters and this world. Five Stars

A Court of Silver Flames is a beautiful character study that features mental health and coping as a central themes. Watching Nesta build a support system then proceed to fail over and over again is frustrating yet rewarding simultaneously. This isn’t a quick redemption story. Instead, it’s an intimate look at how trauma can wreck someone so thoroughly and how difficult it is to claw your way back. Five Stars

Talking at Night is a novel rooted deeply in emotions and mental health. Will and Rosie’s relationship is tumultuous as they deal with the numerous hurdles life throws at them then the ensuing mental health ratifications. Talking at Night is similar to Every Summer After by Carley Fortune and Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren, however I did not enjoyed Talking at Night nearly as much as the other two. Three and a half Stars

One of the Good Guys is a thought provoking novel about violence against women and the discussion around the topic. Hall uses the mystery as a catalyst for the discussion and the use of the various mediums drives the point home. Four Stars Release date: January 9, 2023

What was your favourite read of November?

Leave a comment