Monthly Wrap-Up | October 2023

Hello everyone!

I didn’t read as much as I would have liked, but I was traveling for most of the month so I’m happy I read as much as I did. I didn’t read the books I wanted to, but I wasn’t about to traipse across Europe with my physical TBR.

So, here are some stats!

“He was the rain, suddenly freed from the cloud and cast into the sky. He was the lightning, so eager to move that it jumped through empty space with frenzied splintering. He was the thunder that hit when you weren’t expecting it, warping the air with its rhythms. He was the storm. Failing on foreign lands, but still the same as it had always been.” – The Sunlit Man, Brandon Sanderson

I usually feature my top two favourite books of the month from differing genres, but only one book stood out in October.

Was there any doubt that Sanderson wouldn’t be one of my top books of the month?

The Sunlit Man is classic Sanderson and the book I think fans have been waiting for since the year began. It’s full of Cosmere Connections and familiar characters, but at its core is a story about people overcoming their past.

You, With a View was a pleasant surprise. It’s more than just a road trip romance. It’s a story about love, grief, and self-discovery. Four Stars

A Dowry of Blood is a sensual story about love, obsession, and power. I will certainly be reading more by Gibson in the future. Four Stars

Between Us Flows the Nile was a mediocre Dramione fanfic at best but excelled in its setting. Three Stars

Broken Bonds has the potential to be a fun reverse harem but the lack of answers and spice in the first book is frustrating. Three Stars

Savage Bonds offered readers more questions than answers while also somehow remaining boring. I will not be continuing with the series. Two Stars

Spookily Yours is an okay cozy halloween read if you’re only looking for vibes and not something serious. Three Stars

One Dark Window… Full review to come! Three Stars

What was your favourite read of October?

Leave a comment