Monthly Wrap-Up | September 2023

Hello everyone!

I definitely had a better reading month than August. In terms of both amount read and star ratings. It felt good. I played catch up with ARCs. One of my goals for the year was to not request as many ARCs, but I ended up justifying my requests by saying the books weren’t releases for at least 4 months. Well, those 4 months came quick.

“And this, he decides, is what a good-bye should be. Not a period, but an ellipsis, a statement trailing off, until someone is there to pick it up. It is a door left open. It is drifting off to sleep.” – The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V.E. Schwab

I usually feature my top two favourite books of the months from differing genres, but in August only one book book qualified as the best.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is a lyrical novel about life, love, and friendship as Schwab examines what it is to be alive and the importance of connection.

Powerless is SOO good!

Full review to come!

The Christmas Wager is a cute and unique Christmas romance that’s full of Christmas cheer and a Christmas miracle to wrap it all up. Three Stars

I decided to downgrade The Long Game from my initial four star rating to three because writing this review made me realize the novel was okay. I had high expectations because The American Roommate Experiment was one of my favourite books of 2022, but The Long Game let me down. Three Stars

The Hexologists has an interesting magic system, main characters you don’t see often as main characters, and a satisfying mystery. Despite these positive descriptions, it was unable to engage me fully. For fans of The Books of Babel! Three Stars

Free Me read like it didn’t need to be its own novel. The short page count, the telling rather than showing, and the slow moving plot all contributed to Free Me feeling like an extension of the previous novel rather than its own. Three Stars

Snowed in for Christmas had an interesting premise, but the annoying characters and lack of Christmas cheer made the novel difficult to enjoy for what it was. Two Stars

If We Were Villains was a mixed bag. I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and their dynamics, but the mystery felt like an afterthought thereby making the novel feel like nothing happened. Three Stars

Shattered Truths is a spicy romance that offers readers more than just a romance. It tackles themes of domestic abuse and violence while being sex positive. Four Stars

What was your favourite read of September?

Leave a comment