The Silence of Bones – June Hur

two stars black
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 327
Release Date: April 21, 2020

I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;
Ears, but I mustn’t hear;
Eyes, but I mustn’t see.


1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.


As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.


But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.


June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

I’m certainly in the minority when it comes to The Silence of Bones. I found The Silence of Bones boring and poorly written.

The biggest issue I had with The Silence of Bones was the writing. The writing felt fragmented and didn’t flow easily making for a difficult reading experience. The dialogue also felt disjointed and awkward. Instead of reading like a genuine conversation, it felt uncomfortable.

After about 50 pages, I guessed the twist and ending of the novel. It was incredibly transparent.

Despite all these criticisms, I thought the world and Hur’s world building was interesting and was what kept me reading until the end.

Overall, I wish I could have liked this novel more because the world Hur has set up is intriguing; however her writing leaves much to be desired making The Silence of Bones a disappointment.

Have you read The Silence of Bones? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “The Silence of Bones – June Hur

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s