WWW Wednesday | July 29, 2020

“Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading. So, let’s get to it!”

The Three Ws are: 
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?
<
<
Line
<
,
currently reading
44280973

I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;
Ears, but I mustn’t hear;
Eyes, but I mustn’t see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.


As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.


But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.


June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

I’m only about 50 pages into the book and I’m not too impressed thus far. The writing feels a little fragmented and doesn’t flow. Though, the world and character are intriguing so I will keep reading!
>
Line
.
/
recently finished

the empire of gold

five stars black
The Empire of Gold is a perfect finale to an incredible trilogy. It is now one of my all time favourites. Chakraborty has created a full and lush world with complex and compelling characters to root for. Full review to come!
>
>
>

sweet mercyfour stars black
Sweet Mercy is a quick and sex read that will keep you turning the pages well into the night. Full review to come!
>
>

Line>
>

what's next

August marks the beginning of my Stormlight Archive reread! With Rhythm of War releasing in November, I plan on rereading one Stormlight book a month. 

I also had to throw in Midnight Sun. Bringing it back old school to the books that made me fall in love with reading again after so many years without Harry Potter. I’ve read a few of the mini excerpts and I’ve got to say I’m not impressed. Edwards’s perspective reads very juvenile for someone who is supposed to be over 100 years old. I could also just be too old for these novels now, but this is the only way I’ll “reread” Twilight. I have such fond memories of the series and I don’t want to ruin them. So, we’ll see!
>
>

What about you? What are your three Ws this Wednesday? Have you read any of the books mentioned above?

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | July 29, 2020

  1. I’m definitely going to read Midnight Sun, even though I’m pretty sure its going to be problematic. But I have a soft spot for Twilight and I’m so curious!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: