Broken (Will Trent #4) – Karin Slaughter

four stars black

Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Publisher: Arrow
Pages: 480
Release Date: June 22, 2010

Haven’t read the previous novels? Check out my reviews for Triptych, Fractured, and Genesis.

The fourth Will Trent novel, from the No. 1 Bestseller.

When the body of a young woman is discovered deep beneath the icy waters of Lake Grant, a note left under a rock by the shore points to suicide. But within minutes, it becomes clear that this is no suicide. It’s a brutal, cold-blooded murder.

All too soon, former Grant County medical examiner Sara Linton – home for Thanksgiving after a long absence – finds herself unwittingly drawn into the case. The chief suspect is desperate to see her, but when she arrives at the local police station she is met with a horrifying sight – he lies dead in his cell, the words ‘Not me’ scrawled across the walls.

Something about his confession doesn’t add up and, deeply suspicious of Lena Adams, the detective in charge, Sara immediately calls in the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Shortly afterwards, Special Agent Will Trent is brought in from his vacation to investigate. But he is immediately confronted with a wall of silence. Grant County is a close-knit community with loyalties and ties that run deep. And the only person who can tell the truth about what really happened is dead…


Broken is another excellent addition to the Will Trent series as Will is tasked with investigating a prisoner suicide and murder after Sara Linton calls him in.

The mystery in Broken is engaging and complex as Slaughter weaves heartbreak, attraction, and murder together to create a mystery that’s hard to put down.

After Sara’s introduction in the previous novel, Geneis, I knew moving forward she would become a central character in this series. Broken’s mystery takes place in her late husband’s town and police force. Sara’s biased and she knows it, but she becomes central to the plot. Enter Lena, Sara’s late husband’s partner. The tension between these two women make the emotions swirling around the novel so extreme. The mystery is not the only important plot happening in the novel making not only the mystery interesting, but everything else as well.

Broken deals with police corruption, which is why Will was called into town in the first place. Some of the best moments of this novel are when Will and Lena are investigating the murder. Will pieces things together quickly making his time with Lena tense and unsettling as she grapples with her loyalty to her partner and saving her own skin. Moments like these hinge on the dialogue. If not written properly, the novel falls apart. Slaughter easily masters these scenes with fineness.

Overall, Broken is an excellent addition to the Will Trent series that dives into Sara’s past while delivering an engaging mystery with an ending I didn’t predict.


Have you read Broken? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Broken (Will Trent #4) – Karin Slaughter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s